Age Action Ireland

Google Silver Surfer Awards 2014 - Nominations are now closed!



Google Silver Surfer Awards –
Don’t Delay, Nominate Today!

Great Prizes!

Winners of each award will receive a Chrome Book.


Google and Age Action have joined forces once again to search for Ireland’s top Silver Surfers. The Awards celebrate and showcase older peoples’ use of the internet and technology.

This year we are looking for enthusiastic people over the age of 50 who have an interesting story to share about how they use their computer and the internet and who will become a role model to inspire more older people to embrace technology.

We are calling on people across Ireland to nominate a friend, neighbour or relative who uses technology for pleasure or as a way to enhance the quality of their life. 

Nominations for the awards are now closed

This is the sixth year of the awards and there are five award categories as follows:

New to IT Award
A person over the age of 50 who is new to technology and has overcome challenges to become an IT user

Hobbies on the Net Award
An older person who uses the Internet to pursue their passion or hobby or who uses IT for communication and social networking

IT Tutor(s) of the Year
An individual or group of any age who provides voluntary support to older learners

Google Silver Surfer Award
An older person who embraces the Internet or technology with a sense of fun and adventure

Golden IT Award
An individual over the age of 80 who uses technology to enhance their life

Conditions: Those who entered in previous years can enter again this year. Winners may need to engage in promotional work for the awards.

Photographs of winners and nominees together with their names and ages may be used in publicity campaigns. The awards are open to all in the

island of Ireland. An older person is defined as being over the age of 50. The winners of the Google Silver Surfer Awards with Age Action will be announced at an awards ceremony on Monday 20th October at Google Headquarters in Dublin.  The Judging Panel is responsible for the allocation of awards and the decision of the Chairman of the Judging Panel is final.  No correspondence will be entered into regarding that decision.

Finally, click here to review last years winners.